List of States and Capitals of India 2021 [Updated]

States and Capitals of India 2021: India is the 7 largest country in the world and also 3rd in Asia. It is the most second-most populous country. Republic of India known as India is in the southern part of Asia governed by parliamentary from the government as its area is very large to maintain the Indian constitution gives the right to the central government to maintain its state. This article is all about the list of States and the Capital of India.

States and capital of India Formation

India has 28 states and 8 union territories at present in 2021. Each state of India has an administrative legislative and judicial capital some states all three functions are conducted in one capital every state ruled by the chief minister and also consists of a Governor. Here you will find the 28 states’ capital and also we will mention 8 union territories’ capital also. So, let’s start States and Capitals of India.

How many States and Capitals of India?

According to the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019, the appointed day for the two Union Territories J&K and Ladakh was October 31. This is for the first time that a state is converted into two Union Territories. The total number of states in the country will now be 28, with effect from 26th January 2020, India has 8 union territories.

List of Indian States and Capitals of India:

S.NoStates NameCapitalFounded on
1Andhra PradeshHyderabad (Proposed Capital Amaravati)1 Nov. 1956
2Arunachal PradeshItanagar20 Feb. 1987
3AssamDispur26 Jan. 1950
4BiharPatna26 Jan. 1950
5ChhattisgarhRaipur1 Nov. 2000
6GoaPanaji30 May. 1987
7GujaratGandhinagar1 May. 1960
8HaryanaChandigarh1 Nov. 1966
9Himachal PradeshShimla25 Jan. 1971
10JharkhandRanchi15 Nov. 2000
11KarnatakaBengaluru (formerly Bangalore)1 Nov. 1956
12KeralaThiruvananthapuram1 Nov. 1956
13Madhya PradeshBhopal1 Nov. 1956
14MaharashtraMumbai1 May. 1960
15ManipurImphal21 Jan. 1972
16MeghalayaShillong21 Jan. 1972
17MizoramAizawl20 Feb. 1987
18NagalandKohima1 Dec. 1963
19OdishaBhubaneswar26 Jan. 1950
20PunjabChandigarh1 Nov. 1956
21RajasthanJaipur1 Nov. 1956
22SikkimGangtok16 May. 1975
23Tamil NaduChennai26 Jan. 1950
24TelanganaHyderabad2 Jun. 2014
25TripuraAgartala21 Jan. 1972
26Uttar PradeshLucknow26 Jan. 1950
27UttarakhandDehradun (Winter)
Gairsain (Summer)
9 Nov. 2000
28West BengalKolkata1 Nov. 1956
States and Capitals of India 2021

List of Union Territory and their Capital:

Union Territories NamesCapitalFounded on
Andaman and Nicobar IslandsPort Blair1 Nov. 1956
ChandigarhChandigarh1 Nov. 1966
Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & DiuDaman26 Jan. 2020
DelhiNew Delhi9 May. 1905
Jammu and KashmirSrinagar (Summer)
Jammu (Winter)
31 Oct 2019
LakshadweepKavaratti1 Nov. 1956
PuducherryPondicherry1 Nov. 1954
LadakhLeh31 Oct 2019
Union Territory and Capital 2021

You can also appear MCQ Test for Better Result. Click Here to check it. Here are some common query related to States and Capitals of India

How many States are there in India Now?


How many Territory are there in India Now?


What is the capital of Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu?


What is the Summer capital of Uttarakhand?


What is the Winter capital of Uttarakhand?


What will be Proposed capital of Andhra Pradesh?


What will be Present capital of Andhra Pradesh?


Which is the Present Capital of Lakshadweep?


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!